Cersei as Mother—Oberyn Martell’s Lost Poetry: A Game of Thrones Extension

This poem displays some of the incredible foresight Prince Oberyn must have had, as how eerily true so much of this rings. I thought it was an appropriate time to post it given the state of things in King’s Landing…

An ode to the most odious, mother

I wish I had two lives
one to kill myself and unravel your world
and one to keep alive
watching your ruination, mother
on things coldest the white walker king pales
compared to you the white stalker queen
the northern paralysis is antidote
to your boiling septic poison
the white walkers count you in their ranks
you are bodily allied to their cause
your brain not a factor to anything
your split ends are also your prophecy
the giant minion can murder all but you
because death already runs your blood blue
you give birth to new mortals just as would a plague
the lust others hold for you is misplaced and vague
the hand that feeds is the hand that bleeds
parental is not a parent, in case it’s not readily apparent
already with six I give you the seventh bowl
I have forever tattooed my name inside of your soul
this deep scar will prove to be the shallowest on you
once I have inflicted all my tortures back to you, mother

Leave a Reply

